Warm-up fixtures for ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 announced

The warm-up fixtures for this year's ICC Men's Cricket World Cup in India have been announced.

Altogether 10 teams are participating in this year's Cricket World Cup 2023. Photo courtesy: Unsplash https://unsplash.com/photos/oDs_AxeR5g4

The 10 teams will each play two official 50-over contests during the week leading up to the start of the World Cup on October 5, with matches to be held in three different cities across India.

The matches will be held in Guwahati, Hyderabad and Thiruvananthapuram between September 29 and October 3 and will provide teams with the perfect opportunity to acclimatise to the conditions they are expected to face during the World Cup, said the ICC.

On the opening day of warm-up fixtures Bangladesh will take on Sri Lanka in Guwahati, South Africa will tackle Afghanistan in Thiruvananthapuram and New Zealand will face Pakistan in Hyderabad.

Hosts India will battle it out against reigning champions England the following day in Guwahati, while five-time winners Australia will be looking for some valuable practice when they play the Netherlands in Thiruvananthapuram on the same day.

All games will commence at 2:00pm IST and teams will be allowed to field all members of their 15-player squads during the matches.

World Cup warm-up fixtures:

September 29

Bangladesh v Sri Lanka, Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati
South Africa v Afghanistan, Greenfield International Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram
New Zealand v Pakistan, Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

September 30

India v England, Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati;
Australia v Netherlands, Greenfield International Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram

October 2

England v Bangladesh, Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati;
New Zealand v South Africa, Greenfield International Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram

October 3

Afghanistan v Sri Lanka, Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati;
India v Netherlands, Greenfield International Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram;
Pakistan v Australia, Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad