Twitter blocks Russia President's account among 300 government handles

Twitter has banned Russian President Vladimir Putin’s account, besides downgrading 299 official Russian government accounts as well, according to media reports.

Twitter blocks russia president putin's account.
The action announced by Twitter implies that content on over 300 official Russian government accounts will no longer be “recommended or amplified”. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@AfricaUnitNow

The microblogging platform in a statement said these accounts will no longer be recommended in timelines, notifications or anywhere else on the site, Republicworld reported. 

The social media site added that it would take action against any nation which “restricts access to the open internet while they're engaged in armed conflict". 

Latest update: Ukraine Russia War 

However, ever since Putin announced a ‘special’ military operation in Ukraine on February 24, Twitter has been limited in Russia. It is to note here that Twitter’s announcement came as the Russian President has two official accounts on the website. While one account is in Russian and another is in English, these are jointly followed by around 5.3 million people. According to BBC, Twitter has noted that allowing Russian government officials to post freely on the site while limiting the platform in Russia itself “creates a harmful information imbalance".

The action announced by Twitter implies that content on over 300 official Russian government accounts will no longer be “recommended or amplified”.

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more