Singapore to distribute TraceTogether tokens from Sept 14, enhance SafeEntry

Singapore will commence the nation-wide distribution of physical TraceTogether (TT) tokens starting from September 14, with the aim to complete the distribution by November.

This will enable more Singapore residents to be protected by the TT Programme, particularly the elderly who may not have a suitable smart phone to operate the TT app. 

Each TT Token will have a unique QR code registered to the identity card number of the resident. Designed to interoperate with the TT app, the token works by exchanging short-distance Bluetooth signals with other TT token or TT app in close proximity. 

Physical TraceTogether token. Photo courtesy:
Physical TraceTogether token. Photo courtesy:

In a joint statement, the Smart Nation and Digital Government Office (SNDGO) and Ministry of Health (MOH) said they will also enhance SafeEntry to work more closely with TT.

For certain venues with higher-risk activities – such as larger-scale business-to-business events – SafeEntry will require the TT App or Token to check in. Supplementing SafeEntry with proximity data from TT will enhance safety for participants, as they will be ensured of coverage under the TT Programme.


This “TT-only SafeEntry” will first be piloted at selected venues, and will be expanded over time once the national distribution of the TT Tokens is well underway.

From September 10, a new Self-Check service and SMS service will be launched so that people can be alerted if they have visited the same venues at the same time as COVID19 cases. Both services will be based on individuals’ SafeEntry records. 

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more