Pradhana Vizha gets bigger and better en route year 20

The who’s who of the Indian diaspora in Singapore’s cultural and entertainment fabric attended the star-studded Pradhana Vizha, as MediaCorp hosted the 19th edition of its much anticipated award show on February 24. Pradhana Vizha 2024 gave away as many as 26 awards, across two parts.

Pradhana Vizha 2024 honoured Gunalan Morgan, Jay Nesh Isuran, Saravanan Ayyavoo, Udaya Soundari, and Vishnu M Anandh with the All-Time Favourite Artistes award. Photo Courtesy: Mediacorp.
Gunalan Morgan, Jay Nesh Isuran, Saravanan Ayyavoo, Udaya Soundari, and Vishnu M Anandh received the All-Time Favourite Artistes at Pradhana Vizha 2024. Photo Courtesy: Mediacorp.

The prize count was up by one as the show introduced the ‘All-Time Favourite Artiste’ award. Speaking about it, Sabanitha Shanmugasundram, Head, Commissioning, Commercial & Community Engagement, told Connected to India, “MediaCorp continues to produce these events because it’s an ode to the industry for all the hard work that they put in year-on-year. This year more so, it’s a lot more exciting because we have introduced yet another new award. It’s called the ‘All-Time Favourite Award’.”

Themed “Starry Night”, Pradhana Vizha 2024 was dominated by Kattradhu Kadhal. Jaya Rathakrishnan took home both the “Best Writing (Scripted)” and “Best Original Screenplay” awards.

On the unscripted front, Shahul Hameed secured the “Best Direction (Unscripted)” award for his work in the innovative reality series Inaintha Kaigal. In the past few years, the entertainment industry has gone through a sea change, driving the product with quality content.

“The competition year on year is getting a lot more intense. With audience viewing pattern evolving ever so aggressively, the industry itself has upped its level playing field in ensuring that it’s creating content that matches the needs of the audience,” Shanmugasundram said.

While the night witnessed and hailed multiple winners, the esteemed “Lifetime Achievement” award was presented to the legendary virtuoso L Vijayandran.