NTU announces three-member senior leadership team to assist president-designate Subra Suresh

A three-member senior leadership team has been announced by Nanyang Technological University (NTU) which will support president-designate Prof Subra Suresh, who will assume office from January 1 next year.

Nanyang Technological University (NTU)
Nanyang Technological University (NTU) is one of the premier university of Singapore. Photo courtesy: NTU

Prof Suresh will be assisted by three vice-presidents overseeing academic, research and administration matters and will form the University’s core leadership team. The posts for academic and administration matters have been newly created for the next dispensation.

In a press statement, NTU said, “Prof Ling San, currently Dean of NTU’s College of Science, will be the next NTU Provost and Vice-President for Academics, while Chief of Staff Prof Lam Khin Yong will continue as Vice-President for Research, a position he has held since 2014. Ms Tan Aik Na, currently Chief Administrative Officer and Chief Financial Officer, will be appointed Vice-President for Administration and Chief Financial Officer.”

While commenting on the new roles, Subra Suresh said, “I am grateful to Ling San, Khin Yong, and Aik Na for their willingness to take on these important roles and for their commitment to NTU. Steering a global university like NTU in its next phase of growth requires a strong and cohesive leadership team.”

He added, “I know that I can count on a very capable senior leadership team of vice- presidents along with the enthusiastic support of the Chairman and members of the NTU Board of Trustees. This group of highly talented, dedicated, and energetic colleagues will help chart the next course in NTU’s exciting journey, which will have a profound impact on education, research, innovation, and creativity in Asia and the world.”    

Prof Ling San, Ms Tan Aik Na and Prof Lam Khin Yong
Prof Ling San, Ms Tan Aik Na and Prof Lam Khin Yong ( from left to right). Photo courtesy: NTU

Prof Ling San has been the Dean of NTU’s College of Science since 2011. An expert in cryptography and coding, Prof Ling has received more than S$20 million in external funding and university grants to further his research. His research interests range from applications of algebra and number theory to combinatorial designs, coding theory, cryptography, and sequences.

Prof Lam Khin Yong, the current Acting Provost, has been the NTU Vice-President (Research) since 2014 and Chief of Staff since 2011. He will continue his role as the Vice-President (Research) to guide NTU’s university-wide research agenda and its implementation. His responsibilities will include research planning and policy development, research funding strategies, and research infrastructure development. 

Ms Tan Aik Na joined NTU in August 2016 as the Chief Financial Officer (CFO)-Designate, and assumed the role of CFO on 1 January 2017. As head of NTU’s administration, she leads the University in modernising and strengthening its administrative capabilities through a variety of initiatives. They include streamlining and driving consistency of administrative policies and practices to reduce the administrative burden on its staff and students, as well as upgrading the University’s technological capabilities, workforce and leadership capabilities.