King Charles coronation 2023: New British monarch crowned in grand ceremony at Westminster Abbey

Britain's King Charles III and his wife Camilla have been crowned at Westminster Abbey in central London today in a service that lasted for about two hours.

Charles III, formerly Prince of Wales, became king at the age of 74 after her death on September 8, 2022.
Charles III, formerly Prince of Wales, became king at the age of 74 on September 8, 2022. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@Coronation2023

The first coronation of a new monarch after 69 years and 11 months was a spectacle thoroughly enjoyed by the British, even though a major anti-monarchy group also organised a big protest around today’s event.

"Wearing his grandfather's crimson velvet robe, King Charles took an oath, was anointed with holy oil, before the St Edward's Crown was placed on his head Camilla, the Queen Consort, was crowned with Queen Mary's Crown in a similar ceremony moments later," the BBC reported.

Vice-President Jagdeep Dhankhar and actor Sonam Kapoor were among the Indians present at the coronation ceremony in London.

Britain's Indian-origin Prime Minister Rishi Sunak read from the biblical book of Colossians at the coronation, in keeping with the tradition of British Prime Ministers giving readings at state occasions.

UK's Indian-origin PM Rishi Sunak delivering the traditional reading. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@France24_en

Charles III, formerly Prince of Wales, became king at the age of 74 after the death of Queen Elizabeth II on September 8, 2022. 

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more