Virat Kohli makes it to India’s T20 World Cup squad, KL Rahul misses out

Indian squad for T20 World Cup named
Indian squad for T20 World Cup announced. Photo Courtesy: Rohit Sharma X page

Former Indian cricket team captain and star batsman Virat Kohli has been selected in the squad that’ll represent the country at the upcoming T20 World Cup in the West Indies and the USA. Spinner Yuzvendra Chahal made a comeback while wicketkeeper-batsman KL Rahul missed his ticket for the global tournament.

Rohit Sharma will lead the Indian side in its campaign to win the T20 title that the Men In Blue last won in 2007 under the leadership of MS Dhoni.

The first showpiece event was held that year in South Africa.

Meanwhile, Hardik Pandya has been named as Sharma’s deputy.

Yashasvi Jaiswal found a place in the squad while Shivam Dube was added following his brilliant show in the IPL 2024 so far.

The pace department will be led by Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah and Arshdeep Singh.

Rishabh Pant, who was out of the Indian squad following a car mishap, made a return to the T20 World Cup squad with another wicket-keeper Sanju Samson.

Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja are the two all-rounders named in the team.

India’s campaign will begin against Ireland on June 5.

In New York, India and Pakistan will fight for glory on June 9.

This is the first time the USA will be hosting T20 World Cup matches.

India will then play USA and Canada on June 12 and 15 respectively.

Squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Hardik Pandya (Vice Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj.

Reserves – Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan