Teco Maritime win Izaara Cup 2023 as tournament returns to Singapore after three years

Singapore News: Local Izaara Cricket Fiesta was relaunched after a hiatus of three years this year at the Ceylon Sports Club. 16 teams participated in a series of cricketing events with the winners getting to lift the Izaara Cup.

The Izaara Cup has been part of Singapore's cricket calendar since 2010. Photo courtesy: Izaara

The 11th edition of the Izaara Cricket Fiesta 2023 on March 11-12 saw exciting cricket matches being played. 

The tournament has been an earmarked event on Singapore's cricket calendar since its inception in 2010 and the 2023 edition brought in cheer, networking and camaraderie as the players bonded as teams. 

Photo courtesy: Izaara
Teams gather each year for a lively tournament. Photo courtesy: Izaara

While teams like MCC Lions, Tamil Thalaivas, Desi BOYZ, Anglo Eastern, Kline Warriors and many more have been a part of the older editions of Izaara, there were also many first-timers this year like Bijhar Dabanggs, United Xi and few others. 

TECO Maritime pulled off a thrilling finish in the final, winning by two wickets and with two balls to spare. Here are all the winners:

  • Izaara Cup Winners 2023 – Teco Maritime 
  • Izaara Plate Winners 2023 – K Line Warriors
  • Izaara Shield Winners 2023 – Rusted Anchors

“This lively tournament always sees some prolific play, with fours and sixes raining from the bats and an impressive display of tight bowling and fielding. The bar goes up a notch higher each year, and this year was no different,” Monisha Charan, Izaara founder, said.

Photo courtesy: Izaara
16 teams took part in the tournament, which returned after a hiatus of three years. Photo courtesy: Izaara

“Each year, the teams get better and stronger with each tournament, ensuring that the competitive yet congenial atmosphere of the Izaara Cup is kept alive,” she added.