Sri Lanka announces visa-free entry for visitors from India

The Sri Lankan government has announced a visa-free entry initiative for visitors from India.

Sri Lankan government announces a visa-free entry initiative for visitors from India. Photo Courtesy: Supriyo Hazra/IBNS

A similar initiative was announced by the government for people of six other countries -China, Russia, Malaysia, Japan, Indonesia and Thailand.

The decision was approved by the Sri Lankan Cabinet.

The first approved proposal involves launching a pilot project to grant free tourist visas to visitors from seven countries. Tourist visas will be provided at no cost to travellers from China, India, Russia, Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, and Japan until March 31, 2024, reported Sri Lankan newspaper Daily Mirror.

Minister of Foreign Affairs M U M Ali Sabry posted on X: "Cabinet approves issuing of free visas to India, China, Russia, Malaysia, Japan, Indonesia & Thailand with immediate effect as a pilot project till 31 March."