Singapore to allow travellers from India to enter, transit through city-state, says MOH

Following the announcement about the expansion of its vaccinated travel lanes programme, Singapore has announced the resumption of travel connections with South Asian countries, including India, Nepal and Bangladesh.

Travellers from these countries were previously barred from entering Singapore.
Travellers from these countries were previously barred from entering Singapore. Photo courtesy: CAG

In a statement, the country's Ministry of Health (MOH) said all travellers with 14-day travel history to India, Bangladesh, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will be allowed to enter or transit through Singapore from October 26, 2021, according to news reports.

Travellers from these countries were previously barred from entering Singapore. The new development is likely to have come after reviewing the COVID-19 situation in these countries.

However, travellers from these countries will be subjected to the tightest of border measures, which involve a 10-day quarantine period at a dedicated facility, the MOH added.

Singapore has been witnessing over 3,000 daily COVID-19 infections recently.

Last week, Singapore welcomed the first travellers under an expanded quarantine-free programme, in a big step towards the aviation hub restoring its international links. From this week, the vaccinated travel lanes (VTL) have been extended to vaccinated arrivals from Canada, Denmark, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, Britain and the United States. People of these countries can enter Singapore without quarantine if they pass COVID-19 tests.

Meanwhile, Singapore is planning to allow fully vaccinated travellers from 15 more countries to enter without having to quarantine in dedicated facilities. They include Indonesia, Malaysia, Vietnam and the United Arab Emirates.

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more