Singapore and China agree on mutual 30-day visa exemption

Following a meeting between Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance Lawrence Wong and Chinese Vice Premier Ding Xuexiang, Singapore and China have mutually agreed upon a 30-day visa exemption for its citizens.

The said meeting was a part of Wong’s official visit to China to co-chair the 19th Joint Council for Bilateral Cooperation (JCBC), 24th China-Singapore Suzhou Industrial Park (SIP) Joint Steering Council (JSC), 15th Sino-Singapore Tianjin Eco-City (TEC) JSC, and the 7th China-Singapore (Chongqing) Demonstration Initiative on Strategic Connectivity (CCI) JSC meetings on December 7, as per an official statement from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The exemption will come into effect in Early 2024.

“As part of ongoing efforts to strengthen people-to-people links, both sides agreed to deepen cultural and educational exchanges. The people movements will be facilitated by a mutual 30-day visa exemption arrangement. Both sides are working out the operational details, with the aim to implement in early 2024,” an official statement read.

Apart from this, the two lawmakers also “committed to furthering bilateral ties through exchanges on leadership development and social governance”.

As many as 24 agreements, covering sectors such as trade and education, were signed between the two countries during the meeting.