Russia bars 54 British citizens including journalists and ministers from entering country

The Russian government has placed a ban on 54 British citizens from entering the country, media reports said.

A file picture of Moscow city. Photo Courtesy: Pixabay

The move was made by the Kremlin in response to the UK’s sanctions against its citizens and enterprises.

Russia accused the individuals and entities of involvement in “propaganda support of the activities of the [Ukrainian] Zelensky regime” and of being “Russophobic,” in its latest update to its sanctions policy on Friday, reports CNN.

The list includes names of several government ministers as well as journalists from public broadcasters like BBC, the Guardian newspaper and the Daily Telegraph newspaper.

“We would like to emphasize again that any efforts by London to further spin the anti-Russian sanctions flywheel will inevitably receive a decisive response from our side,” the Russian ministry said in a statement as quoted by CNN.

“Work on expanding the Russian ‘stop list’ in response to the actions of the British authorities will continue.”