Rohit Sharma named ICC’s 2019 ODI Cricketer of the Year, Kohli wins Spirit of Cricket Award

Rohit Sharma named ICC's 2019 ODI Cricketer of the Year. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@BCCI
Rohit Sharma named ICC's 2019 ODI Cricketer of the Year. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@BCCI

Indian opener Rohit Sharma was named 2019’s ODI cricketer of the year by the ICC on Wednesday while skipper Virat Kohli was given the Spirit of Cricket Award. 

Sharma had a fantastic 2019, scoring 7 centuries, including 5 at the ICC World Cup. Incidentally, the Hitman has also teamed up CricKingdom to start a brand new coaching academy, to be run by ex-Singapore cricket captain Chetan Suryavanshi and Rohit’s brother Vishal, in the island nation. 

Meanwhile, skipper Virat Kohli, who had won the Player of the Year, Test Player of the Year and ODI Player of the Year for 2018, bagged the Spirit of Cricket Award for his gesture during the ICC World Cup, asking the crowd to cheer for captain Steve Smith during India’s match against Australia when fans had been booing him at the boundary. 

Kohli was also named captain of both the ODI and Test Teams of the Year. Mayank Agarwal was the only other Indian in the Test Team of the Year, while Rohit, Mohd Shami and Kuldeep Yadav made it to the ODI Team of the Year. 

Hero of the World Cup final, England’s Ben Stokes received the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the world player of the year.

With 1104 runs in 11 matches in 2019, Australia's Marnus Labuschagne was named men's emerging cricketer of the year. 

India's Deepak Chahar got the T20I Performance of the Year award for his six for seven against Bangladesh in November, which included a hat-trick.

“The awards celebrate the world’s best cricketers and this has undoubtedly been an extraordinary year for men’s cricket. The highlight of course was the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 that ended in such dramatic fashion. Ben Stokes was, of course in the midst of all the action during the event from that quite incredible catch at the Oval right through to that epic final at Lord’s and is a very deserving winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy,” said ICC Chief Executive Manu Sawhney.

Complete list of winners:

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the World Player of the Year: Ben Stokes (England)

2019 Test Cricketer of the Year: Pat Cummins (Australia)

2019 ODI Cricketer of the Year: Rohit Sharma (India)

2019 Spirit of Cricket Award: Virat Kohli (India)

2019 ICC Associate Cricketer of the Year: Kyle Coetzer (Scotland)

2019 ICC Men's Emerging Cricketer: Marnus Labuschagne (Australia)

2019 T20I Performance of the Year: Deepak Chahar (India)

2019 Umpire of the Year: Richard Illingworth

ICC Test Team of the Year: 

Mayank Agarwal (India)
Tom Latham (New Zealand)
Marnus Labuschagne (Australia)
Virat Kohli (c) (India)
Steve Smith (Australia)
Ben Stokes (England)
BJ Watling (wk) (New Zealand)
Pat Cummins (Australia)
Mitchell Starc (Australia)
Neil Wagner (New Zealand)
Nathan Lyon (Australia)

ICC ODI Team of the Year: 

Rohit Sharma (India)
Shai Hope (West Indies)
Virat Kohli (c) (India)
Babar Azam (Pakistan)
Kane Williamson (New Zealand)
Ben Stokes (England)
Jos Buttler (wk) (England)
Mitchell Starc (Australia)
Trent Boult (New Zealand)
Mohammed Shami (India)
Kuldeep Yadav (India)

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more