New UK PM Sunak draws flak for reappointing Suella Braverman

Britain's first Indian-origin Prime Minister Rishi Sunak has been criticised for reinstating Indian-origin Suella Braverman as the Home Secretary in his newly-formed Cabinet.

Photo courtesy: Twitter/
Hardliner Braverman's reappointment has been dubbed "cynical". Photo courtesy: Twitter/@ukhomeoffice

Hours after he pledged to lead the Conservative party with "integrity, professionalism and accountability", Sunak reappointed Braverman, who quit last week over a technical breach of government rules.

Braverman's reappointment has drawn sharp criticism from across the political spectrum in the United Kingdom.

"Rishi Sunak at lunchtime: 'This government will have integrity, professionalism and accountability at every level'. Rishi Sunak in afternoon: 're-appoints Suella Braverman as Home Sec, after breaching official ministerial rules & "dreaming" of deporting asylum seekers to Rwanda'," tweeted Caroline Lucas, a Member of Parliament.

"Truly terrible appointment - one of the cruellest and most dishonest people in public life," wrote Steve Peers, a professor at the University of Essex, on Twitter.

Earlier this month, Braverman was at the centre of controversy for branding Indians as the "largest group of people who overstay" their visas in the UK.

"Look at migration in this country - the largest group of people who overstay are Indian migrants," she said in an interview with The Spectator.

A hardliner, Braverman's reappointment has been dubbed "cynical".

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more