Indian cricket stars Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli return to T20 squad for upcoming Afghanistan series 

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli returned to the T20 paradigm of India when the BCCI named them in the squad for the upcoming series against Afghanistan.

Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli return to Indian T20 squad for Afghanistan series. Photo Courtesy: Virat Kohli Instagram page

Both the cricketers remained out of the Indian squad ever since the national team lost the semi-final clash against England in T20 World Cup in 2022.

Pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj have been rested for the series.

Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan and Mukesh Kumar will lead the pace battery during the upcoming series.

Jitesh Sharma and Sanju Samson were named as wicket-keepers.

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli remained a regular fixture in the Indian Test and ODI squad.

However, they returned to the shortest format just months before India got ready to play the T20 World Cup in West Indies and the USA.

Indian squad:

Rohit Sharma (C), S Gill, Y Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, W Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar