Gangubai Kathiawadi is my favourite character till date: Alia Bhatt

'Gangubai Kathiawadi', the period drama starring Alia Bhatt, adapted from one of the chapters of noted author Hussain Zaidi's book, 'Mafia Queens of Mumbai' will release on February 25. In a rapid-fire interview with Connected to India, she called Gangubai her favourite character amongst all she has played thus far. 

Her role selection is a result of her innate desire to add variety. "I want to challenge myself as an actor. I like to mix it up in terms of playing different characters. I'm finding new shades and a new face for the audience to see," Alia told us. The actor has also spent considerable time in Singapore, shooting for one of her previous films 'Badrinath Ki Dulhaniya'. She echoed her co-star of the film Varun Dhawan's views on how special Singapore is. 

'Gangubai' is directed by Sanjay Leela Bhansali and produced by Bhansali and Jayantilal Gada (Pen Studios). Talking about working with Sanjay Leela Bhansali, Alia said, "It has genuinely been a once-in-a-lifetime experience, the amount I've learnt on this film."

The film also has Shantanu Maheshwari, Vijay Raaz, Indira Tiwari and Seema Pahwa playing key roles with Ajay Devgn featuring in an "extended cameo appearance". The story revolves around the life of Gangu, sold to a brothel in the red light area of Kamathipura at the age of 17 and her fight for survival, which leads to her becoming Gangubai. 

Catch the rest of her interview here!


Tushaar Kuthiala
Tushaar Kuthiala – Associate Editor

Tushaar has extensive experience as a journalist and in founding two start-up newspapers. He has developed editorial models for both copy and content, and has written several articles, news reports on a wide range of topics. He is a graduate of St. Stephen’s College and earned a post-graduate diploma in TV Journalism from the Asian College of Journalism (ACJ), Chennai. He has worked as a special correspondent based in New Delhi with Daily World, an international media organisation.