Eminent members of Indian diaspora honoured with the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award at PBD Convention

The Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards (PBSA), the highest honour conferred on overseas Indians, were awarded at the digitally held Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Convention on January 9. Handed out by President of India Ram Nath Kovind, the awards are given to Non-Resident Indians, Persons of Indian Origin or an organization/institution established and run by Non-Resident Indians or Persons of Indian Origin in recognition of their outstanding achievements both in India and abroad.

Among some of the prominent winners was Mukesh Aghi, president of the US India Strategic and Partnership Forum (USISPF), and the Federation of Indian Associations. 

Aghi, who in just a few years made the USISPF the top India-centric American business advocacy group, received the award under the business category and also delivered the acceptance speech on behalf of the awardees.

Others from the US who received awards were – Arvind Phukan under the environment technology category, Nilu Gupta for promoting Indian culture and Dr Sudhakar Jonnalagadda in the medicine category.

The Federation of Indian Associations (FIA) of the tri-state area of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut, one of the largest umbrella organisations in the Indian community, received the award for community service.

Among other recipients of the 30 awards handed out were – Suriname President Chandrikapersad Santokhi, Curacao Prime Minister Eugene Rhuggenaath and New Zealand minister Priyanca Radhakrishnan.

“A Jury-cum-Awards Committee with Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu as the chairman and External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar as the vice chair and other distinguished members from various walks of life considered the nominations for the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards, 2021, and unanimously selected the awardees”, the External Affairs Ministry said in a statement.

Complete list of awardees: 

Name Country Field
NGO Cultural Diversity for Peaceful Future Armenia Promoting Indian Culture
Dr. Rajani Chandra D’Mello Azerbaijan Medicine
Mr. Baburajan Vava Kalluparambil Gopalan Bahrain Community Service
Mrs. Jamal Ahmad Botswana Business
Mr. Janakiraman Ravikumar Cameroon Closer ties with India
H.E. Mr. Eugene Rhuggenaath Curacao (The Netherlands) Public Service
Mr. Debashish Chaudhuri Czech Republic Art and Culture
Mr. Mohammed Husein Hasanali Sardharwala Ethiopia Business
Sai Prema Foundation Fiji Community Service
Dr. Balasubramanian Ramani Germany Education
Mr. Lal Lokumal Chellaram Hong Kong Community Service
Dr. (Prof.) Muralidhar Miryala Japan Science & Technology
Mr. Rajib Shaw Japan Education
Mr. Salil Panigrahi Maldives Tourism
Dr. Ravi Prakash Singh Mexico Science & Technology
Hon. Ms. Priyanca Radhakrishnan New Zealand Public Service
Indian Cultural Association (ICA) Nigeria Community Service
Dr. Mohan Thomas Lazarus Pakalomattom Qatar Medicine
Mr. Jean Regis Ramsamy Reunion (France) Media & Community Service
Mr. Siddeek Ahmed Saudi Arabia Business
Dr. Anil Kumar Chotalal Mithani Sudan Medicine
H.E. Mr. Chandrikapersad Santokhi Suriname Public Service
Dr. Shachi Gurumayun Switzerland Bio-tech Agronomy
Mr. Vashdev Tikamdas Purswani Thailand Business
Mr. Resham Singh Sandhu UK Public Service
Mr. Arvind Phukan USA Environment Technology
Ms. Nilu Gupta USA Promoting Indian Culture
Federation of Indian Associations NY, NJ & CT USA Community Service
Dr. Sudhakar Jonnalagadda USA Medicine
Dr. Mukesh Aghi USA Business