BCCI gives nod to 10-team IPL from 2022

File photo courtesy: Twitter/@IPL
File photo courtesy: Twitter/@IPL

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Thursday decided to go ahead with a 10-team Indian Premier League from 2022. The decision was ratified at the BCCI Annual General Meeting. 

The decision on the number of IPL teams was among the major points on the agenda of the BCCI’s 89th AGM. It was reportedly decided to stick to 8 teams for the IPL in 2021 as there are only four months before the next edition. 

The eight teams currently in the IPL are - Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Capitals, Kings XI Punjab, Rajasthan Royals and Kolkata Knight Riders. 

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more