Asian Games: Vishnu Saravanan clinches bronze as Indian sailors finish with three medals

India's Vishnu Saravanan bagged the bronze medal in the men’s dinghy ILCA7 sailing event at the Asian Games 2023 on Wednesday (September 27).

Indian sailors. Photo Courtesy: UNI

Saravanan's compatriot and Tokyo Olympian, Nethra Kumanan, finished fourth in the women’s dinghy ILCA6 category.

Saravanan won the bronze by netting 34 points from 11 races, while Singapore’s Lo Jun Han Ryan clinched gold in men’s dinghy with 26 net points. The silver was bagged by the Republic of Korea’s Ha Jeemin, who tallied one point less than Vishnu. Lower scores are better in sailing.

In the women’s dinghy ILCA6, Nethra finished just outside the medal positions with 41 net points from her series of 11 races.

Malaysia’s Binti Mohamad Latif Nur Shazrin (25), Hong Kong China’s Norton Stephanie Louise (37) and Singapore’s Chan Jing Hua Victoria (38) clinched the three podiums.

Saravanan’s bronze means India concluded their sailing campaign at Hangzhou 2023 with three medals. Neha Thakur, silver in girls’ dinghy ILCA4, and Eabad Ali, bronze in men's windsurfer RS:X event, had medalled at the Ningbo Xiangshan Sailing Centre on Tuesday.

In the other event standings which were finalised on Wednesday, Chitresh Tatha came seventh in men's kite with 77 net points while Jerome Kumar Savarimuthu, in men's windsurfing iQFoil, came in 7th among nine competitors with 96 net points.

C to I News Desk
C to I News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indians Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more