Three publications banned in Singapore for extremist religious content

The Minister for Communications and Information has gazetted three publications as prohibited publications under the Undesirable Publications Act. 

The three titles are: 

1. “Things that Nullify One’s Islaam”, by Shaykh al-Islaam Muhammad ibn ‘Abdil-Wahhaab, explained by Shaykh Saalih al- Fowzaan.

2. “What Islam Is All About (Student Textbook)”, by Yahiya Emerick. 

3. “The Wisdom of Jihad”, by Abuhuraira Abdurrahman.

In a press statement on Wednesday, November 21, MCI said all three publications contain exclusivist or extremist religious views that promote enmity among different religious communities. Two of the publications also purvey divisive views against other groups within the same religion.

Photo courtesy: Screenshots from Amazon
Photo courtesy: Screenshots from Amazon

MCI stressed that such teachings and ideologies are detrimental to Singapore’s inter and intra racial and religious harmony and relations. The Singapore government will not tolerate any individuals or publications which aim to incite hostility or violence among different religious groups.

Distributing any of the prohibited publications is an offence, in addition to possessing, or coming into possession of any of the publications, but fail to deliver the copy to the Police.

Those convicted of an offence could be liable to a fine, imprisonment or both.

The ban on the three publications will take effect from Wednesday, November 21. Members of the public who are in possession of these materials should hand them to the Police.

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more