StarHub brings early trial access of 5G to customers free of charge

Telecommunications company StarHub is the first in Singapore to unleash 5G services for customers, starting Tuesday, August 18.

Customers will be able to automatically experience some early 5G benefits using compatible mobile devices currently available in the market with StarHub’s Mobile+ or Biz+ mobile plans.

"The early trial access to StarHub 5G is free-of-charge for customers in the lead up to the full commercial launch of ultra-fast, ultra-responsive 5G standalone services next year," StarHub said in a press statement.


Photo courtesy: StarHub
Photo courtesy: StarHub

“Given the broad and infinite possibilities of 5G, we are eager for our customers to catch an early glimpse into the ultra-fast speed and ultra-low-latency upgrades that will empower hundreds of thousands of consumers, enterprises, government clients and Singapore," said Johan Buse, Chief of Consumer Business Group, StarHub.

The telco's trio of Mobile+ plans will be enhanced with early 5G capabilities from August 18. Launched earlier this month, Mobile+ is a suite of plans that offer customers free entertainment, huge data bundles, outgoing talktime, SMS and free Caller Number Display.

Meanwhile, enterprise customers will be able to choose one of the three new Biz+ two-year plans with StarHub SmartUC Mobile and Microsoft 365 subscriptions for a flat monthly fee. 

StarHub 5G is currently ‘live’ on 2100MHz spectrum on a non-standalone architecture, similar to other overseas 5G networks. Nokia is the technology partner for StarHub 5G.

The early 5G trial will run till February 16, 2021. 

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more