Sri Lankan all-rounder Farveez Maharoof is SCC’s third marquee signing

Farveez Maharoof.
Farveez Maharoof. Photo Courtesy: PA Photos

Sri Lankan all-rounder Farveez Maharoof was signed as the third marquee player for the Singapore Cricket Club (SCC) team for the upcoming International SCC T20 tournament. The announcement was made on social media by SCC T20 Chairman 2017, Pushpendra Sharma.

“Please join me in welcoming Maha to our coveted T20 tournament,” Sharma said on Facebook. “Farveez is a part of a strong contingent from SCC which includes various Singapore National Team Players as well as Sri Lankan world record holder Muttiah Muralitharan and stylish Australian opening batsman Ed Cowan.”

The three international stars will be taking part in the tournament scheduled to be held from August 11 to 13 in Singapore.

Maharoof is a fast-bowling allrounder who uses the swinging ball to lethal effect. He made his debut for the national squad during the Zimbabwe tour in April-May 2004 at the age of 20. Sri Lanka's selectors were impressed by his performances as under-19 captain and fast-tracked him into the national squad.

Maharoof had played for the Sri Lanka Under-15s, Under-17s and under-19s, and led the Under-19 team on four tours, including the 2004 Youth World Cup in Bangladesh. He enjoyed a prolific school career for Wesley College as well.

His career-best figures of 6 for 14 helped skittle West Indies out for 80 during the Champions Trophy in India. He was chosen as part of the Delhi Daredevils in the IPL's first season, and played English county cricket for Lancashire.

Maharoof was in and out of Sri Lanka's squad till 2012, and made a comeback in 2016, when the selectors recalled him for the limited-overs leg of their tour to Ireland and England.

Tushaar Kuthiala
Tushaar Kuthiala – Associate Editor

Tushaar has extensive experience as a journalist and in founding two start-up newspapers. He has developed editorial models for both copy and content, and has written several articles, news reports on a wide range of topics. He is a graduate of St. Stephen’s College and earned a post-graduate diploma in TV Journalism from the Asian College of Journalism (ACJ), Chennai. He has worked as a special correspondent based in New Delhi with Daily World, an international media organisation. 


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more