Singapore presidential election candidates taking part in live debate on television at 9pm, August 28

The three candidates for the 2023 presidential elections in Singapore are taking part in a live debate at 9pm today, to be broadcast by CNA. This will be the first and only live debate among the candidates — former Singapore Deputy Prime Minister, Tharman Shanmugaratnam, 66; former chief investment officer at sovereign wealth fund GIC, Ng Kok Song, 75; and former chief executive of insurer NTUC Income, Tan Kin Lian, 75.

Left to right: Singapore presidential election 2023 candidates Tan Kin Lian, Tharman Shanmugaratnam, and Ng Kok Song. Photo courtesy: X/@ParallelFacts

The “presidential forum”, as the live debate is called, will also be live-streamed on CNA’s YouTube and Facebook channels, with a repeat telecast on Channel 5 tomorrow.

Also read: 6,649 overseas Singaporeans sign up to vote in the presidential elections 2023

Yesterday, The Straits Times posted a video featuring two of the candidates, who took part in a rapid-fire Q&A session — the questions were asked by young Singaporeans and the two aspirants, Ng and Tharman, had to respond to each question within 90 seconds. Some of the questions were:

“How would you represent Singapore as our ninth president?”

“How have your experiences in your youth helped shape you into the leader you are today?”

All the three candidates have undertaken daily walkabouts, meeting people and spending time interacting with them.

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more