President Murmu, PM Modi greet their counterparts as Singapore celebrates its national day

Letters were sent from the offices of President Droupadi Murmu and Prime Minister Narendra Modi to their respective Singaporean counterparts as the island nation celebrated its national day on August 9. 

President Droupadi Murmu and PM Narendra Modi greeted their Singaporean counterparts as the island nation celebrated its national day on August 9. Photo courtesy: PIB

Prez. Murmu exchanged greetings with Halimah Yacob, noting the deepening and the diversifying bilateral relationship across various areas such as trade, investment, defence, financial technology, skill development and people-to-people ties. 

She also shared her hope for further achievement of greater collaboration for mutual benefit of the people of the two countries.

In his communication with Lee Hsien Loong Modi, Modi appreciated the strong, broad based and comprehensive strategic partnership between India and Singapore.

The Indian Prime Minister reiterated that Singapore remains a key partner for his country with the broader Indo-Pacific region, and commands a central position in India's Act East Policy.  

Modi also expressed confidence in identification of new growth engines to drive the bilateral relationship, particularly through the institution of India-Singapore Ministerial Round Table.

He hailed Singapore’s active participation as a guest country in G20 this year and hoped that the nation would support India in achieving key objectives of their G20 Presidency.

C to I News Desk
C to I News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indians Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more