PM Modi in Egypt: Highest honour ‘Order of the Nile’ conferred by President El-Sisi; visits to Al-Hakim Mosque and Giza pyramids

Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi, who is on a state visit to Egypt, today met President Abdel Fattah Saeed Hussein Khalil El-Sisi, besides undertaking visits to Cairo’s historic Al-Hakim Mosque, restored with the help of India’s Dawoodi Bohra community, and the legendary pyramids of Giza.

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi at the Sphinx in Giza, Egypt. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@narendramodi


Modi at the pyramids. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@narendramodi

Also read: PM Modi in Egypt: Diaspora welcome followed by meetings with cabinet ministers and grand mufti

Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi with Egyptian President Abdel Fattah Saeed Hussein Khalil El-Sisi. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@narendramodi

During their meeting, El-Sisi conferred on Modi the ‘Order of the Nile’, Egypt’s highest honour. Instituted in 1915, the ‘Order of the Nile’ is conferred upon heads of states, crown princes, and vice-presidents who offer Egypt or humanity invaluable services. This is the 13th highest state honour conferred upon Prime Minister Modi.

Modi visits Cairo’s historic Al-Hakim Mosque, restored with the help of India’s Dawoodi Bohra community. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@narendramodi
Modi meets devotees and scholars at Al-Hakim Mosque. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@narendramodi
A gallery of the history and restoration of Al-Hakim Mosque. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@narendramodi

The ‘Order of the Nile’ is a pure gold collar consisting of three-square gold units comprising Pharaonic symbols. The first unit resembles the idea of protecting the state against the evils; the second one resembles prosperity and happiness brought by the Nile; and the third one refers to wealth and endurance.

Modi visits the Heliopolis War Cemetery to pay respects to the Indian troops who gave their lives for Egypt during World War I. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@narendramodi
Names of Indian soldiers at the Heliopolis War Cemetery. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@narendramodi

The three units are connected to one another by a circular gold flower decorated with turquoise and ruby. Hanging from the collar is a hexagonal pendant decorated with flowers of the Pharaonic style, and turquoise and ruby gems. In the middle of the pendant, there is a protruding symbol representing the Nile that brings together the North (represented by the Papyrus) and the South (represented by the Lotus).

Over the past nine years, the Prime Minister has been conferred with:
● Legion of Merit by the US Government;
● Order of St Andrew award, the highest civilian honour of Russia;
● King Hamad Order of the Renaissance by Bahrain;
● Order of Zayed Award, the highest civilian honour of the United Arab Emirates;
● Order of Abdulaziz Al Saud, the highest honour of Saudi Arabia awarded to non-Muslim dignitaries;
● Grand Collar of the State of Palestine Award, the highest honour of Palestine;
● State Order of Ghazi Amir Amanullah Khan, the highest civilian honour of Afghanistan;
● Order of the Distinguished Rule of Nishan Izzuddin, the highest honour of the Maldives;
● Companion of the Order of Logohu, the highest civilian award of Papua New Guinea;
● Companion of the Order of Fiji;
● Ebakl Award by the Republic of Palau;
● Order of the Druk Gyalp, the highest civilian decoration by Bhutan.

Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India – Writer

The Press Trust of India Ltd., commonly known as PTI, is the largest news agency in India. It is headquartered in New Delhi and is a nonprofit cooperative among more than 500 Indian newspapers. It has over 500 full-time employees as of 1 January 2022, including about 400 journalists.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more