Pakistani-origin accused in Mumbai 26/11 terror attack gets extradition breather from US court

A court in the United States of America has stayed the extradition of Pakistani-origin Canadian businessman Tahawwur Rana to India, where he is wanted as a key accused in the 2008 Mumbai terror attacks, aka “26/11”. The court’s stay order overrides the Biden Administration’s recommendation that there should be no stay on Rana’s extradition.

The US Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit has asked terrorism accused Tahawwur Rana to submit his argument before October 10. Photo courtesy: X/bishwa55900127

Rana, 62, has appealed before the Ninth Circuit Court against the order by a US District Court in the Central District of California that denied the writ of habeas corpus.

District Judge Dale S. Fischer of the US District Court in Central California in his latest order said, “The extradition of Rana to India is stayed pending the conclusion of his appeal before the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.”

Rana faces charges for his role in the Mumbai 26/11 attacks and is known to be associated with Pakistani-American terrorist David Coleman Headley, one of the main conspirators of the Mumbai attacks, in which Pakistani terrorists ran amok through the city, taking people hostage and killing them.

A total of 166 people, including six Americans, were killed in the 2008 Mumbai terror attacks, in which 10 Pakistani terrorists laid a siege of more than 60 hours, murdering people at iconic and vital locations of Mumbai.

The US Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit has asked Rana to submit his argument before October 10 and the US Government has been asked to submit its response by November 8.

Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India – Writer

The Press Trust of India Ltd., commonly known as PTI, is the largest news agency in India. It is headquartered in New Delhi and is a nonprofit cooperative among more than 500 Indian newspapers. It has over 500 full-time employees as of 1 January 2022, including about 400 journalists.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more