Pakistan: 52 die as suicide blast rips through religious procession in Balochistan

At least 52 people died and 50 others were hurt in a suspected suicide blast rocked a religious procession in Pakistan's Balochistan region on Friday.

At least 52 people died as a suicide blast ripped through a religious procession in Pakistan's Balochistan region. Photo Courtesy: IBNS

District Health Officer (DHO) Abdul Rasheed Shahi confirmed the casualties to Dawn News while City Station House Officer (SHO) Mohammad Javed Lehri said a police official was among the dead.

Saeed Mirwani, chief executive of Shaheed Nawab Ghous Bakhsh Raisani Memorial Hospital, said dozens were being treated at his hospital while more than 20 injured people have been referred to Quetta for medical assistance.

“The process of moving bodies and injured persons continues even now,” the hospital CEO told Dawn News, adding that 22 were taken to the Mastung district hospital.

Mastung Assistant Commissioner (AC) Atta-ul-Munim told Dawn News that the explosion took place when people were gathering for an Eid-i-Miladun Nabi procession near Madina Masjid at Alfalah Road.

The deceased policeman was identified as DSP as Nawaz Gishkori.

Banned terror outfit Tehreek-i-Taliban Pakistan has denied their involvement in the attack.

Former Pakistan PM Shehbaz Sharif condoled the loss of lives in the incident and wrote on X: "Deeply saddened by the cowardly attack on innocent people during Eid Miladun Nabi (SAW) procession in Mastung. Such heinous acts are highly condemnable and have no place in our country. May the victims rest in peace, and may justice be swift for those responsible."

C to I News Desk
C to I News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indians Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more