Pacer Jasprit Bumrah returns to Indian squad, named captain for T20 series against Ireland

Indian selectors on Monday named Jasprit Bumrah, who returned to the national squad after a long time as he was recovering from injuries, as the skipper for the upcoming T20 series against Ireland.

Pace bowler Jasprit Bumrah returned to the Indian squad for the upcoming T20 series against Ireland. Photo Courtesy: Jasprit Bumrah Instagram page

Bumrah's service was missed by the national squad for several important series in the past couple of months as his stress reaction in his lower back had assumed career-threatening proportions.

Bumrah's return is crucial especially by keeping the 50-over World Cup in mind.

Bumrah will lead the 15-member Indian team which will play three matches on Aug 18, 20 and 23.

Bumrah had earlier led the Indian Test team in the rescheduled Birmingham clash against England last year.

Regular skipper Rohit Sharma was ruled out after he was COVID-19 infected ahead of the Test.

Buram last played for the national side in September 2022.

India Squad: Jasprit Bumrah (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad (VC), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Prasidh Krishna, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan.

C to I News Desk
C to I News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indians Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more