NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankar wins Vice-Presidential poll

Former West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar is the new Vice President of India after defeating Opposition candidate Margaret Alva by 346 votes.

Dhankhar, who is a lawyer by profession, joined politics in 1989.
Dhankhar, who is a lawyer by profession, joined politics in 1989. Photo courtesy: Twitter

725 out of 780 MPs voted for the Vice Presidential Election. Two BJP MPs - Sunny Deol and Sanjay Dhotre, who are unwell, did not vote. Dhankhar won the election comfortably with 528 votes against Margaret Alva's 182.

Members of Parliament of both Houses vote to elect the Vice President of India. Dhankhar, who is a lawyer by profession, joined politics in 1989.

He joined the Congress when PV Narasimha Rao became the prime minister. But with the rise of Ashok Gehlot in Rajasthan, he changed ships to the BJP.

He became the governor of West Bengal in July 2019 and has made headlines since then over his tumultuous relations with the Mamata Banerjee government. 

He tendered his resignation as the Governor of West Bengal after being nominated as VP candidate by BJP-led NDA.

Margaret Alva was in the spotlight in 2008 for raising her voice against the Congress’ ticket distribution in Karnataka and alleging that the tickets were open to bidders.

Alva was elected to the Rajya Sabha as a Congress representative in 1974. She served a six-year term and was re-elected for three more years.

Margaret Alva has served as the Governor of Goa, Gujarat, Rajasthan and Uttarakhand during her administrative stint.

Read more India News, Political News and Breaking News here

C to I News Desk
C to I News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indians Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more