Meet Indian-American Dev Shah, 2023 Scripps Spelling Bee champion

Indian-American Dev Shah has won the 2023 edition of the Scripps National Spelling Bee, taking away a USD 50,000 cash prize by correctly spelling the 11-letter word "psammophile".

had previously entered the competition in 2019 and 2021,
14-year-old Dev from Florida had previously entered the competition in 2019 and 2021. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@ScrippsBee,

Dev, who had previously participated in the competition in 2019 and 2021, is also reportedly the 22nd champion of the Spelling Bee with a South Asian heritage in the last 24 years.

"It's surreal. My legs are still shaking," the 14-year-old Florida boy said at the competition in the US state of Maryland.

Charlotte Walsh, 14, from Virginia finished second.

Dev's winning word was 'Psammophile', defined by Merriam-Webster as an organism that thrives in sandy areas.

"Psammo meaning sand, Greek? Phile, meaning love, Greek?" he asked as he identified the roots of the word, but queried about the details just to be safe, according to the New York Times.

Dev was one of the 11 finalists from among the 11 million contestants from across the world. 

For years, Indian-Americans have been dominating the National Spelling Bee which was started in 1925 and is open to students till the eighth grade. The Spelling Bee was cancelled in 2020 but returned in 2021 with a few changes.

Harini Logan, an eighth-grader from Texas, won it last year by beating another Indian-American Vikram Raju.

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more