Lights, Camera, Cricket! IPL 2020 set to begin

Photos courtesy: Twitter
Photos courtesy: Twitter

Cricket fans will finally get their annual dose of the most glamorous T20 league - the IPL. The tournament had to be postponed this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. But after much debate and planning, the cash-rich league is finally set to raise the curtains on its 13th season. 

The tournament is being played in the UAE this year with COVID-19 raging in India. The matches will be held in three locations - Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah with the opening match on September 19 between 2019 champions Mumbai Indians and runners-up Chennai Super Kings. 

As we count down to IPL 2020, here’s a ready-reckoner of the eight IPL squads and the players who might prove to be key in their quest for the trophy. 

Mumbai Indians

Captain: Rohit Sharma
IPL titles won: 4 (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019)
Position in IPL 2019: Champions
Key players: Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Jasprit Bumrah

Chennai Super Kings

Captain: MS Dhoni
IPL titles won: 3 (2010, 2011, 2018)
Position in IPL 2019: Runners-up
Key players: MS Dhoni, Faf du Plessis, Shane Watson, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Lungi Ngidi, Deepak Chahar, Imran Tahir

Royal Challengers Bangalore 

Captain: Virat Kohli
IPL titles won: 0
Position in IPL 2019: 8th  
Key players: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Chris Morris, Yuzvendra Chahal, Aaron Finch

Rajasthan Royals

Captain: Steve Smith
IPL titles won: 1 (2008)
Position in IPL 2019: 7th
Key players: Steve Smith, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Robin Uthappa, Jofra Archer

Kolkata Knight Riders

Captain: Dinesh Karthik
IPL titles won: 2 (2012, 2014)
Position in IPL 2019: 5th
Key players: Sunil Narine, Nitish Rana, Andre Russell, Pat Cummins, Kuldeep Yadav

Delhi Capitals

Captain: Shreyas Iyer
IPL titles won: 0
Position in IPL 2019: 3rd
Key players: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, R Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Ishant Sharma

Kings XI Punjab

Captain: KL Rahul
IPL titles won: 0
Position in IPL 2019: 6th
Key players: Chris Gayle, KL Rahul, Glenn Maxwell, Sarfaraz Khan, M Ashwin, Mohd Shami

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Captain: David Warner
IPL titles won: 1 (2016)
Position in IPL 2019: 4th
Key players: Kane Williamson, David Warner, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jonny Bairstow, Manish Pandey

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more