Justice DY Chandrachud takes oath as Chief Justice of India

Justice Dhananjaya Y Chandrachud was sworn in as the 50th Chief Justice of India today by President Droupadi Murmu at a ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhavan. He is the first Chief Justice whose father was also one.

Photo courtesy: Twitter/
Chief Justice DY Chandrachud (right) being administered the oath of office by President Droupadi Murmu (left). Photo courtesy: Twitter/@rashtrapatibhvn

He will serve as Chief Justice of India for two years, till November 10, 2024, succeedinig Justice Uday Umesh Lalit, who was at the top post for a short tenure of 74 days. He is the son of late Justice YV Chandrachud, the longest-serving Chief Justice Of India who was at the top post for seven years.

Justice Chandrachud was elevated as a Supreme Court judge on May 13, 2016. He has been part of several Constitution benches and landmark verdicts, including in the Ayodhya land dispute and the right to privacy, as well as the benches that delivered crucial judgments on decriminalising same-sex relations by partially striking down Section 377 of the IPC, the validity of Aadhaar scheme and the Sabarimala issue.

He holds an undergraduate degree in Economics from St Stephen's College. He later completed am LLB from Delhi University, and an LLM and a doctorate from Harvard Law School in the US.

He has practised law at the Supreme Court and the Bombay High Court and served as a judge in Bombay High Court and as the Chief Justice of the Allahabad High Court.

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more