ISRO scientist N Valarmathi, voice behind Chandrayaan-3 rocket launch countdown, dies after suffering from heart attack

New Delhi:  Indian Space and Research Organisation (ISRO) scientist N Valarmathi, who was the voice of various rocket launch countdowns, has died after suffering from a heart attack.

ISRO scientist N Valarmathi dies after suffering a heart attack. Photo Courtesy: Dr. P V Venkitakrishnan X page

She was 64.

She died in Chennai on Saturday.

Her last assignment of lending her voice to a countdown event was the Chandrayaan-3 lunar mission launch.

Indian Minister Rajeev Chandrasekhar condoled her death and posted X: "Saddened to hear about the passing of N Valarmathi ji, the voice behind many @isro launch countdowns, including Chandrayaan 3."

"My condolences to her family and friends. Om Shanti," he said.

Also Read: India’s sun mission: Aditya-L1 successfully performs first earth-bound manoeuvre, says ISRO

Former ISRO Director PV Venkitakrishnan also mourned her demise and wrote on X: " The voice of Valarmathi Madam will not be there for the countdowns of future missions of ISRO from Sriharikotta. Chandrayan 3 was her final countdown announcement. An unexpected demise . Feel so sad.Pranams!"

Born in Tamil Nadu's Ariyalur on July 31, 1959, she graduated as an engineer from the Government College of Technology in Coimbatore.

She joined ISRO in 1984.

She was the first person to receive the Tamil Nadu government's Abdul Kalam Award.

C to I News Desk
C to I News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indians Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more