India's Chandrayaan-3 successfully enters lunar orbit, says ISRO

Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) on Saturday said the country's third lunar mission, Chandrayaan-3, has been successfully inserted into the lunar orbit.

An Image of Chandrayaan-3 tweeted by ISRO. Photo courtesy: ISRO X page

"Chandrayaan-3 has been successfully inserted into lunar orbit," ISRO tweeted.

ISRO said the move was commanded from the Mission Operations Complex (MOX), ISTRAC, Bengaluru.

"A retro-burning at the Perilune was commanded from the Mission Operations Complex (MOX), ISTRAC, Bengaluru," the tweet said.

Perilune is the spacecraft's closest point to the moon.

Giving details about the next important step which the Chandrayaan-3 will perform, the space body said: "The next operation - reduction of orbit – is scheduled for Aug 6, 2023, around 23:00 Hrs. IST."

ISRO also shared a message from the satellite to its Centre which said: "MOX, ISTRAC, this is Chandrayaan-3. I am feeling lunar gravity."

Over the course of three weeks and through five manoeuvres following the launch on July 14, ISRO has been progressively moving the Chandrayaan-3 spacecraft into increasingly distant orbits from Earth.

Subsequently, on August 1, a crucial manoeuvre known as a "slingshot move" was executed, effectively propelling the spacecraft from Earth's orbit towards the Moon.

After this trans-lunar injection, the Chandrayaan-3 spacecraft departed from its orbit around Earth and commenced a trajectory that would guide it towards the proximity of the Moon.

C to I News Desk
C to I News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indians Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more