Indian-origin Singaporean T Raja Kumar appointed FATF president

Global monetary watchdog Financial Action Task Force (FATF) has appointed Indian-origin T Raja Kumar, who has over 35 years of leadership and operational experience in Singapore’s home ministry and police force,  as president.

Kumar, who has led Singapore’s delegation at FATF since 2015
Kumar has led Singapore’s delegation at FATF since 2015. Photo courtesy: Twitter/@FATFNews

Kumar, who last served as senior advisor on international policy in Singapore’s home ministry, succeeded Germany’s Marcus Pleyer. He earlier served as deputy secretary (international) during 2015-2021 and helped forge collaborative relationships with counterparts in the security arena, including strategic partners such as Interpol and the UN.

He has also served as deputy commissioner of police for policy, director of the police intelligence department, and chief executive of the Casino Regulatory Authority and put in place a regulatory framework for new casinos in Singapore, including for anti-money laundering and countering the financing of terror.

Kumar, who has led Singapore’s delegation at FATF since 2015 and served as a FATF Steering Group member for the past four years, has listed four priorities for his term as president of the multilateral watchdog - strengthening asset recovery, countering illicit finance of cyber-enabled crime, increasing the effectiveness of global anti-money laundering measures, and reinforcing FATF partnerships with FATF-style regional bodies (FSRBs).

Read more Singapore News ad Breaking News here

C to I News Desk
C to I News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indians Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more