Indian mathematician Nikhil Srivastava wins prestigious 2021 Michael and Sheila Held Prize

Photo courtesy: LinkedIn
Photo courtesy: LinkedIn

Indian mathematician Nikhil Srivastava has been awarded the prestigious 2021 Michael and Sheila Held Prize along with two others, announced the National Academy of Sciences. 

Srivastava from the University of California, Berkeley, Adam Marcus from the Ecole polytechnique federale de Lausanne (EPFL) and Daniel Alan Spielman from Yale University will receive the prize for solving long-standing questions on the Kadison-Singer problem and on Ramanujan graphs.

The prize consists of a medal and USD 100,000.

Srivastava, Marcus and Spielman uncovered a deep new connection between linear algebra, geometry of polynomials, and graph theory that has inspired the next generation of theoretical computer scientists, a statement from the National Academy of Sciences said.

Srivastava is currently Associate Professor of Mathematics at the University of California.

The Michael and Sheila Held Prize, started in 2017, is presented annually and honours outstanding, innovative, creative, and influential research in the areas of combinatorial and discrete optimisation, or related parts of computer science, such as the design and analysis of algorithms and complexity theory.

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more