Indian-American Maju Varghese named in Biden’s Presidential Inauguration Committee

US President-elect Joe Biden and Vice President-elect Kamala Harris have named Indian-American Maju Varghese in the four-member Presidential Inaugural Committee (PIC).

Photo courtesy: LinkedIn
Photo courtesy: LinkedIn

The committee is charged with organising activities surrounding the swearing-in of the new US administration on January 20, 2021.

Varghese will be the Executive Director of the committee with Tony Allen as the Chief Executive Officer and Erin Wilson and Yvanna Cancela as Deputy Executive Directors.

"It is an honour to help lead the team that will plan the inaugural activities for President-elect Biden and Vice President-elect Harris while keeping their commitment to protecting the health and safety of Americans and demonstrating the strength and resilience of our nation," Varghese said in a statement.

"This historic inauguration will serve as the launching pad for the Biden-Harris Administration to get to work on day one and beat the pandemic, build back our economy better, and unify our country," he added.

The inauguration ceremony marks the commencement of a new four-year term for the president of the United States with the major events being the oath of office, inaugural address, parade and inaugural ball.

Varghese served as the Chief Operating Officer and Senior Advisor in the Biden-Harris campaign, overseeing day-to-day operations. He previously served in the Barack Obama administration in various roles, including as the Assistant to the President for Management and Administration and Deputy Director of Advance. 

A lawyer by training, Varghese was born in the US to parents who immigrated from Thiruvalla, Kerala.

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more