India will continue to support Sri Lanka during crisis in future, says President Droupadi Murmu

Indian President Droupadi Murmu met her visiting Sri Lankan counterpart Ranil Wickremesinghe and said India will continue to support the neighbouring nation during its hour of need in future.

Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe meets his Indian counterpart Droupadi Murmu in New Delhi. Photo courtesy: PIB

The Sri Lankan President, who visited India from July 20-21, met Murmu in the Rashtrapati Bhavan here.

"Welcoming President Wickremesinghe to India, the President said that Sri Lanka occupies a special place in India’s ‘Neighbourhood First’ Policy and SAGAR (Security and Growth of All in the Region) Vision," read the statement issued by the Ministry of External Affairs. 

"India’s multi-pronged support to Sri Lanka in the last one year to tide over its economic challenges is a testament to India’s long-standing commitment to bilateral relations with Sri Lanka. She emphasized that India has always stood with Sri Lanka during its hour of need and would continue to do so in future as well," read the statement.

Murmu said, "Our partnership is enduring and beneficial to the common people of our two countries and the larger Indian Ocean Region."

The two leaders noted that India and Sri Lanka are working on many key projects in several sectors, and that India-Sri Lanka development partnership has touched the lives of Sri Lankans in a positive way.

The President said that India looks forward to continuing and strengthening its developmental partnership with Sri Lanka under the leadership of President Wickremesinghe.

Ranil Wickremesinghe also met Indian PM Narendra Modi during his visit to the neighbouring country.

Sujoy Dhar
Sujoy Dhar

Sujoy Dhar is Group Editor of India Blooms News Service (IBNS), a 24x7 news portal cum wire service. A USA Today writer from India, he was formerly with Thomson Reuters and The Washington Times. He teaches journalism in several US universities.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more