India in talks with 13 countries to establish bilateral air bubble agreements: Civil Aviation Minister

Photo courtesy: Twitter/@HardeepSPuri
Photo courtesy: Twitter/@HardeepSPuri

Indian Civil Aviation Minister Hardeep Singh Puri on Tuesday said that the country is in talks with 13 nations to establish bilateral air bubble agreements for international flight operations.

India suspended international passenger flights on March 23 amid the outbreak of the novel coronavirus. 

Since July, India has put in place bilateral air bubble agreements with the US, the UK, France, Germany, UAE, Qatar and Maldives. Now negotiations are underway to establish similar agreements with Australia, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Nigeria, Bahrain, Israel, Kenya, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Nepal and Bhutan, said Puri.

“The ongoing negotiations will benefit stranded Indians and nationals of these countries,” tweeted the minister. 

The bilateral air bubble agreements allow airlines of both countries to operate international flights with certain restrictions. 

"It is always our endeavour to reach out to every stranded citizen. No Indian will be left behind," said Puri.

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK and Dubai. Connected to India covers developments around Indians abroad, informing, engaging and entertaining its audiences.


What is your reaction to the Netflix reality show Indian Matchmaking?

  • Love it - Can't wait for Season 2
  • Hate it - Can't tolerate even one episode
  • It's like looking in the mirror- warts and all
  • I cringe but just can't stop watching
  • I am neutral, no strong feelings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more