Greece: PM Narendra Modi conferred with the Grand Cross of the Order of Honour

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who is currently in Greece, was conferred with The Grand Cross of the Order of Honour on Friday.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was conferred with The Grand Cross of the Order of Honour in Greece on Friday. Photo Courtesy: Narendra Modi X Page

He was conferred with the honour by Greek President Katerina Sakellaropoulou.

The Order of Honour was established in 1975. The head of goddess Athena is depicted on the front side of the Star with the inscription “ONLY THE

Traditionally, the honour is conferred by the Greek President to Prime Ministers and eminent personalities for their contribution towards Greece.

The citation said: “In the person of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, an honour is bestowed upon the friendly people of India.”

“On the occasion of this visit, the Greek State Honours the Prime Minister of India, a statesman who has tirelessly promoted the global reach of his country and who works systematically for India’s economic progress and prosperity, bringing about bold reforms. A statesman who has brought environmental protection and climate change among the top priorities of international activity,” it added.

On the other hand, Modi thanked Greece over the honour and tweeted: "I thank President Katerina Sakellaropoulou, the Government and people of Greece for conferring upon me The Grand Cross of the Order of Honour. This shows the respect the people of Greece have towards India. @PresidencyGR."  

C to I News Desk
C to I News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indians Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more