G20 Summit: Prime Minister Narendra Modi announces African Union's permanent seat

With all the existing members' approval, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday welcomed the 55-nation African Union to the G20, the members of which are here to attend this year's summit.

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi at the G20 Summit on September 9. Image courtesy: Screengrab from Modi X profile

Modi, the G20 President for the year, announced the inclusion of the African Union during his inaugural address to the members.

Modi said, "Bharat's Presidency in G20 both inside and outside the country has become a symbol of inclusiveness. It has become the people's G20 in Bharat where crores of Bharatiyas are involved with the summit. There have been over 200 meetings in more than 60 cities.

Also Read: New Delhi: India hosts G20 Summit in the presence of more than 25 world leaders

"With the thought of inclusiveness, Bharat had proposed granting permanent membership to the African Union. I believe all of us (members of G20) are agreeing on it," the 72-year-old said.

After all the existing member nations agreed on it, Prime Minister Modi welcomed the African Union President to take his seat.

India's External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar was seen going up to the African Union President to lead him to his seat in the room filled with global leaders, including US President Joe Biden and British Prime Minister Rishi Sunak, who are in New Delhi to participate in the two-day-long geopolitical summit which began on Saturday.

C to I News Desk
C to I News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indians Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more