Formula 1 driver Carlos Sainz of team Ferrari wins Singapore Grand Prix 2023

The glittering sports event of the Formula 1 Singapore Airlines Singapore Grand Prix 2023 ended last night with team Ferrari driver Carlos Sainz spraying the champagne.

Carlos Sainz of team Ferrari enjoys the second Formula One win of his career, after finishing first at the Singapore Grand Prix 2023. Photo courtesy: X/@ScuderiaFerrari

“Not a bad Singapore GP weekend,” posted Scuderia Ferrari, the Formula One (also Formula 1 or F1) racing arm of the luxury supercar-maker, on the social network X, followed by a trophy emoji.

Carlos Sainz of team Ferrari on the Singapore track. Photo courtesy: X/@ScuderiaFerrari

McLaren driver Lando Norris came in second and Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton finished third. Hamilton is widely regarded as one of the best F1 drivers of all time — he has a joint-record seven Formula One World Drivers’ Champion titles (tied with Michael Schumacher) — but he did not conquer Singapore this time. Norris, 14 years younger than Hamilton, is labelled a “rising star”, a reputation that he cemented this weekend.

Team Ferrari has ended the domination of Red Bull. Photo courtesy: X/@ScuderiaFerrari

Sainz ended the winning streak of Max Verstappen, the team Red Bull driver who won the Formula One World Drivers’ Champion title in 2021 and 2022.

Verstappen had won 10 consecutive F1 races before missing a podium finish at the Singapore Grand Prix 2023. After losing in Singapore, he said that he was confident of team Red Bull coming out on top at the Japanese Grand Prix next weekend.

Singapore champion Carlos Sainz comes from great racing stock; his father, Carlos Sainz Sr, was a renowned racing driver, too. The Singapore Grand Prix 2023 is his second F1 win, after the British Grand Prix 2022.

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more