Former Zimbabwe skipper Heath Streak, 49, dies after a long battle against cancer, wife confirms

Former Zimbabwe captain and all-rounder Heath Streak, who was part of the squad that put up memorable shows against strong teams in world cricket, died on Sunday, his wife Nadine Streak confirmed on Facebook.

Former Zimbabwe Captain Heath Streak dies at 49. Photo Courtesy: Nadine Streak Facebook page

Heath Streak was 49.

The pacer was fighting a long battle against cancer.

Nadine wrote on Facebook: "In the early hours of this morning, Sunday the 3rd of September 2023, the greatest love of my life and the father of my beautiful children, was carried to be with the Angels from his home where he wished to spend his last days surrounded by his family and closest loved ones."

"He was covered in love and peace and did not walk off the Park alone. Our souls are joined for eternity Streaky," she said.

Heath Streak played in 65 Tests and 189 ODIs for the African nation.

In his career, Heath Streak scalped 216 wickets with the red-ball and 239 in ODIs.

Under his leadership, Zimbabwe won four out of 21 Test matches.

He won 18 ODI matches as skipper.

Apart from leading the side, Heath Streak also served the national side as the head coach.

He also coached Bangladesh national team and IPL franchise teams like Kolkata Knight Riders and Gujarat Titans.

His former teammate Henry Olonga tweeted: "RIP Streaky.'

In 2021, the International Cricket Council (ICC) handed him an eight-year ban over corruption charges.

C to I News Desk
C to I News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indians Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more