Elon Musk rebrands Twitter as 'X', new logo replaces iconic bird

Billionaire Elon Musk on Monday changed the name of the popular micro-blogging site Twitter, which he bought last year, to 'X'.

Billionaire Elon Musk on Monday changed the name of the popular micro-blogging site, Twitter, which he bought last year, to 'X'. Photo Courtesy: Elon Musk Twitter page

He also revealed a new logo for the platform, replacing the bluebird which was part of its identity for the past 17 years.

However, the bird logo could still be seen on the mobile app.

Meanwhile, Twitter CEO Linda Yaccarino said 'X' will be the future state of unlimited interactivity.

She tweeted: "X is the future state of unlimited interactivity – centered in audio, video, messaging, payments/banking – creating a global marketplace for ideas, goods, services, and opportunities. Powered by AI, X will connect us all in ways we’re just beginning to imagine."

She said: "It’s an exceptionally rare thing – in life or in business – that you get a second chance to make another big impression. Twitter made one massive impression and changed the way we communicate. Now, X will go further, transforming the global town square."

Musk on Sunday tweeted to announce that the new logo would go live on Monday. The domain x.com now redirects to Twitter.

Musk acquired the micro-blogging platform in October last year for $44 billion.

The first Twitter logo in 2005 was green but it was changed to its present iconic baby blue.

The Twitter bird, known as Larry Bird, was first introduced in 2010 and then went through a few redesigns.  

C to I News Desk
C to I News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indians Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more