DPM T Shanmugaratnam reappointed chairman of MAS

The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) said today Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam has been reappointed as its chairman.

Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam
Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam. Photo courtesy: Youtube

Four other board members – Finance Minister Heng Swee Keat, Enterprise Singapore chairman Peter Ong, Council for Estate Agencies president Quek See Tiat and the Ministry of Health’s chief health scientist Tan Chorh Chuan – have also been reappointed, MAS said.

The reappointments will be from June 1 this year to May 31, 2021.

Chaly Mah, chairman of NetLink NBN Management, will also join the MAS board from May 1 this year to May 31, 2020.

Quek has also been reappointed as chairman of the audit committee, while Ong will chair MAS’ risk committee, which provides oversight and guidance on risks faced by the central bank. He takes over from Lim Chee Onn, who will step down from the board on May 31.

Quek Gim Pew, the Ministry of Defence’s chief defence scientist, has been appointed to the risk committee as a non-board member.

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK and Dubai. Connected to India covers developments around Indians abroad, informing, engaging and entertaining its audiences.


How do you spend your time during Covid19 stay at home?

  • Watching movies and shows on Netflix, Aamazon Prime etc.
  • Physical activity, exercise, yoga, HIIT etc
  • Playing online games, PS4, X-box.
  • Reading books.
  • Making a list things you will do once this is over
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more