Chandrayaan-3: ISRO releases 3D images of Moon's surface from south pole

The Indian Space Research Organisation has unveiled a 3-dimensional ‘anaglyph' image of the Chandrayaan-3 Vikram lander from the south pole of the Moon.

ISRO on Tuesday released 3D image of Chandrayaan-3 Vikram lander from the south pole of the Moon.Photo Courtesy: ISRO X page

Sharing the image, the organisation wrote on X: "Anaglyph is a simple visualization of the object or terrain in three dimensions from stereo or multi-view images."

Also Read: Chandrayaan-3 success: ISRO showcases another perfect moon landing by Vikram lander, with a ‘hop experiment’

"The Anaglyph presented here is created using NavCam Stereo Images, which consist of both a left and right image captured onboard the Pragyan Rover," ISRO said.

"In this 3-channel image, the left image is positioned in the red channel, while the right image is placed in the blue and green channels (creating cyan). The difference in perspective between these two images results in the stereo effect, which gives the visual impression of three dimensions," ISRO said.

The Indian space organisation recommended that people use Red and Cyan glasses to view the 3D image.

The Vikram lander on board India's third Lunar expedition Chandrayaan-3 recently made a soft landing on the Moon again and successfully underwent a hop experiment.

ISRO on Monday said the Vikram Lander exceeded its mission objectives.

On command, it fired the engines, elevated itself by about 40 cm as expected, and landed safely at a distance of 30 – 40 cm.

C to I News Desk
C to I News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indians Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more