BCCI: Viacom18 wins Indian cricket's digital and TV media rights for a whopping USD 720 million

Viacom18 Media Private Limited has bagged the TV and digital rights of the Indian cricket team for INR 5,963 crore (USD 720 million approx).

Indian Cricket team. Photo Courtesy: BCCI Twitter page

According to reports, the company won the bidding war against prominent rivals Star India and Sony to secure the rights. Viacom18 won the media rights for the period of September 2023 to March 2028.

BCCI President and 1983 World Cup hero Roger Binny said, "The recent BCCI e-auction has unequivocally demonstrated the vigour of cricket in India. The remarkable journey of Indian cricket, its meteoric rise on the global sporting arena, owes its success to the unwavering trust that people have vested in the BCCI leadership and its dedicated workforce."

Also Read: 40 years on, India remembers its first ever cricket World Cup triumph

"With the staunch support and collaboration of every stakeholder within our cricketing ecosystem, I am confident that we will continue to propel the brand BCCI to uncharted territories on the global sports stage," Binny said.

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah said, "I extend my heartfelt congratulations to Viacom18 for emerging successful in the e-auction, and I express my sincere gratitude to all the bidders who participated in this process."

"Their involvement underscores the industry's confidence in Indian cricket. I also want to acknowledge the role of market forces in reinforcing their belief and trust in us," he said.

C to I News Desk
C to I News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indians Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more