Australia women's cricket captain Meg Lanning announces international retirement

Australia women's cricket captain Meg Lanning, who has won the most number of World Cups for the country, on Thursday announced her retirement from international cricket at age 31,  leaving everyone surprised.

Lanning says she will miss cricket but up for something new. Photo courtesy: X/@ICC

Turning emotional at a press conference in Melbourne, Lanning said she was "sad" but up for "something new". 

"I'm sad that it's finishing up but I'm very much ready for something new," said Lanning, who has been the member of the seven successful World Cup campaigns.

A winner of two ICC Women's Cricket World Cup trophies and five ICC Women's T20 World Cup titles, Lanning retires at the age of 31 having amassed more than 8,000 runs across all formats for her country.

"I've been able to represent Australia and play the game I love for so long. I grew up watching to represent Australia and I had fun playing cricket.

"I loved it and to be able to do it for 13 years has been an incredible opportunity for me and I'm very thankful for those opportunities," she told the reporters. 

"I'll miss it but yeah it's time to go and see what else is out there and experience that and I'm looking forward to seeing how that pans out," she adds.

Though she quit international cricket, Lanning will continue to play in the domestic circuit.

Lanning plays for Victoria in the Women's National Cricket League and the Melbourne Stars in Women's Big Bash League.

In the Women's Premier League, she is the captain of Delhi Capitals. 

C to I News Desk
C to I News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indians Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more