Alia Bhatt debuts as producer and stars in Darlings; To release on Netflix on August 5

Netflix will stream actor Alia Bhatt’s debut production Darlings, in which she also plays the lead, on August 5. 

The film co-starring Shefali Shah, Vijay Varma and Roshan Matthew has been co-produced by Shah Rukh Khan’s Red Chillies Entertainment. Bhatt rolled out her production house Eternal Sunshine Productions last year.

The film to be produced by Gauri Khan, Alia Bhatt and Gaurav Verma is the debut full-length feature for director Jasmeet K Reen and stars Alia Bhatt, Shefali Shah, Vijay Varma and Roshan Mathew in lead roles. 

Darlings is based in Mumbai. It is as a dark comedy following the lives of a mother-daughter, who face exceptional circumstances, and try to make it in life, despite all odds. The music for the film is composed by filmmaker-composer Vishal Bhardwaj, and the lyrics are by veteran lyricist Gulzar.

“Darlings is special, the moment I read the script, I wanted to be a part of the film not only as an actor, but to play a larger role in bringing such unique stories to the viewers. I can’t hold back my excitement as we unveil the hard work of some amazing co-actors, partner producers and Jasmeet,” said Bhatt.

Producer and COO, Red Chillies Entertainment, Gaurav Verma added, “When we got the script, Jasmeet and I were working on something existing idea of us, we wanted to contemporize it. Meanwhile, we read the script and really liked the script.”

Read more Entertainment News and Bollywood News here

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more