8th coronavirus case in the UAE is an Indian national

An Indian national has been announced as the newest case of the novel coronavirus in the UAE, by the Ministry of Health and Prevention (MoHaP).

This brings the total number of 2019-nCoV cases detected in the Emirates to eight. 

The Indian national had interacted with a recently diagnosed person according to health authorities. So far, six of the patients in the UAE have been Chinese nationals while one is Filipino.

It is not clear so far whether the Filipino or Indian - the seventh and eighth cases reported - had any connection to China.

Health officials said that all patients remain stable, except for one, who was under close observation in intensive care. Earlier, the UAE also announced that one of the first few infected patients, a 73-year-old Chinese national, Liu Yujia, had recovered from the infection.

The Ministry also confirmed that, in coordination with health and other concerned authorities in the country, it has taken all the necessary precautions to ensure that highly efficient preventive measures are in place.

It urged the public to follow preventive procedures and to read the awareness instructions, available on its website and the official websites of health authorities in the UAE.

China's consul general in Dubai, Li Xuhang re-iterated that Chinese nationals who have recently returned from virus-hit regions should observe a 14-day home quarantine and promptly report symptoms to the Emirati authorities.

Li Xuhang also urged any Chinese expats who have been in contact with affected people in China to get checked by a doctor as a precaution.

CtoI News Desk
CtoI News Desk – CtoI

Singapore-headquartered online media company targeting Indian Diaspora across Singapore, US, UK, UAE and India. Connected to India covers developments around NRIs. Covers arts, political, sports, finance, entrepreneurship, business, movies, dramas, entertainment and other news for Indians living worldwide.


Which team do you think will win IPL 2023?

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
Write your story

Contribute an Article

Learn more